on the rolling paddock of afternoon

the French doors swing, swing and swing
on an axle hinge

and the dulling light on the rolling paddock
dulls the green grass
goads my heart

I fear emptiness night will bring

on the rolling paddock of afternoon cries my heart

and the dulling light in my father’s eyes
dulls his green grass
tears my heart

and a night bird sings, sings and sings
and I weep under the weight of the blackbird’s wings

 

This entry was posted in literature, poem, poems, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to on the rolling paddock of afternoon

Leave a Reply

